Research Seminar

Seminar Coordinators: Prof. Wenxi JIANG and Prof. Zhenyu GAO

Advisory Committee

With its aim of becoming a regional center of excellence for hospitality education in Asia, the School of Hotel and Tourism Management recognizes that support from the industry is vital to the success of the School’s mission. The School thus set up an Advisory Committee in May 2000 with the following objectives:

  1. To foster collaboration between the industry and the School.
  2. To provide input and feedback on issues related to curriculum design.
  3. To maximize students’ learning by supporting internship opportunities and encouraging employment opportunities for program graduates.

The current Advisory Committee is comprised of the following members:



Ms. Sonia Cheng

Chief Executive Officer
Rosewood Hotel Group



Mr. Peter C. Borer

Director & Chief Operating Officer
The Hongkong Shanghai Hotels Limited


Mr. Philip N.L.Chen

Managing Director
Hang Lung Properties Limited

Ms. Cathy Chu

Tourism Commissioner
The Government of HKSAR 


Mr. Paul Foskey

Executive Vice President
International Hotel Development, Asia/Pacific
The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company L.L.C.


Dr. Aron Harilela 

Chairman & CEO
Harilela Hotels Limited


Ms. Pansy Ho

Managing Director
Shun Tak Holdings Limited


Mr. Franz Kraatz


CEO The Mall Group Project Development
The Mall Group Company Limited


Mr. Kung Lin-cheng Leo

Ocean Park Hong Kong


Mrs. Monica Lee-Muller

Managing Director
Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre


Ms. Lynette Chin-yee Leong

Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director
CapitaLand Commerical Trust Management Limited


Ms. Paddy W.Y. Lui

Managing Director
Stanford Hotels International Limited


Mr. Lui Ting Victor

Executive Director
Sun Hung Kai Properties Limited





Mr. Jean Jacques Reibel

Managing Director
InterContinental Hong Kong


Mr. Anthony Ross

Chief Executive Officer, Hospitality & Leisure Division
PT. Lippo Karawaci, Tbk


Mr. Nigel A.A. Summers

Horwath HTL


Mr. David Sun

Chief Executive Officer
Homeinns Group


Mr. Matthew Tee Kai Woon

Group Executive Director
Bina Puri Holdings Bhd


Mr. David Udell

Group President – Asia Pacific Hyatt International – Asia Pacific Limited


Mr. Charles Woo

Area Managing Director
Hong Kong & Macau Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Inc.


Mr. Xiaoqiang Zhang

Chief Executive Officer
Jin Jiang International Hotel Management Co. Ltd.

Honorary Advisor:

Mr. Larry M. K. Tchou

Senior Advisor for Greater China Hyatt Hotels Corporation

Member and Secretary:

Prof. Denis Wang

School of Hotel and Tourism Management, CUHK (ex officio)



School of Hotel and Tourism Management