CUHK Business School Announces the Faculty Teaching Excellence Award 2019-20

In appreciation of the excellent teaching performance and achievement of faculty members, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) Business School announced the Faculty Teaching Excellence Award (FTEA) 2019-20 recently.

FTEA recognises and rewards its top educators with outstanding achievements and significant contributions in teaching and student learning in the School. Following the introduction of the Award in 2014-15, the School’s students and academic staff nominate their excellent teachers/colleagues to a selection panel every year. The awardees for the 2019-20 academic year are:

General Faculty Members

  • Prof. Andy Wong, Associate Professor of Practice in Marketing in Department of Marketing; Associate Dean (Undergraduate Studies); and Director of Studies in Undergraduate Studies in Business
  • Dr. Andrew Yuen, Senior Lecturer in Department of Decision Sciences and Managerial Economics; Academic Director of MBA Programmes; and Director of Policy and Knowledge Transfer in Aviation Policy and Research Centre

Early Career Faculty Members

All the awardees feel honoured to receive the Faculty Teaching Excellence Award. They would like to express their gratitude to those who have supported them along the journey.

“I would like to thank the CUHK Business School and Department of Marketing for the relentless support and guidance. The award is indeed a huge encouragement for me to work harder for students. I am humbled by all the former and present recipients, who are excellent teachers and role models setting a high standard of education at CUHK.”
—— Prof. Andy Wong

“I would like to express my gratitude to CUHK Business School and Department of Decision Sciences and Managerial Economics for their continuous support. I would also like to thank all the great teachers around me, in particular my mentor Prof. Michael Fung, for their guidance and support. In this special year, I look forward to co-creating an excellent teaching and learning environment with all faculty members and students.”
—— Dr. Andrew Yuen

“I would like to express my sincere appreciation for the recognition and support by CUHK Business School and Department and Management. I am grateful to have been afforded the opportunity to grow and learn to be an entrepreneurial educator. I look forward to all the excitement and challenges ahead!”
—— Dr. Frank Ng

Every year, the School’s full-time academic staff members with teaching duties are eligible for FTEA nomination under two categories. The “General Faculty Members” category is for staff who have taught at CUHK Business School for at least three years; and the “Early Career Faculty Members” category is for staff with at least one year teaching experience at the School and no more than five years of teaching experience in higher education institutions. Each awardee will receive a professional allowance of HK$10,000 and a commemorative plaque specially designed for the award.