CUHK Business School Announces the Faculty Teaching Excellence Award 2018-19 Recipients

In appreciation of the excellent teaching performance and achievement of faculty members, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) Business School announced the Faculty Teaching Excellence Award (FTEA) 2018-19 recipients in late February 2020.

CUHK Business School is committed to recognising the outstanding contribution of its top educators and promoting teaching excellence among faculty staff. Following the introduction of FTEA in 2014-15, students and academic staff of CUHK Business School nominate their excellent teacher/colleague to a selection panel every year. The awardees for academic year 2018-19 are:

General Faculty Members

  • Prof. Darwin Choi, Associate Professor in Department of Finance
  • Dr. Fred Ku, Senior Lecturer in Department of Decision Sciences and Managerial Economics; Assistant Dean (Undergraduate Studies); and
    Director of Integrated BBA Programme
  • Dr. Ervi Liusman, Lecturer in School of Hotel and Tourism Management


All the awardees feel honoured to receive the Faculty Teaching Excellence Award. They would like to express their gratitude to those who have supported them along the journey.

“I must thank my colleagues and mentors, especially Prof. Michael Fung, for their continuous support. CUHK Business School has long been known for our commitment to high quality education. I believe that FTEA is an encouragement and a reminder for all of us to keep striving for excellence.”
– Dr. Fred Ku

“My sincere thanks to CUHK Business School and School of Hotel and Tourism Management for providing me with numerous opportunities to learn and grow to be a passionate educator. I would also like to thank all the wonderful people around me for their guidance and support. Without them, I would not be able to receive the award.”
– Dr. Ervi Liusman

“I would like to express my gratitude to CUHK Business School and Department of Finance for the support. This semester has been difficult for students and teachers with the coronavirus outbreak. Hope everyone is staying safe and healthy. Let’s create an effective online learning environment together!”
– Prof. Darwin Choi

Every year, all full-time academic staff members of the Business School with teaching duties are eligible for FTEA nomination under two categories. The “General Faculty Members” category is for staff who have taught at CUHK for at least three years; and the “Early Career Faculty Members” category is for staff with at least one year teaching experience at CUHK and no more than five years of teaching experience in higher education institutions. Each awardee will receive a professional allowance of HK$10,000 and a commemorative plaque specially designed for the award.