The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) is established. At that time, New Asia College and United College each had a Faculty of Commerce, while Chung Chi College had a Department of Economics and Business Administration under the Faculty of Arts.

(From left to right) Dr. Mu Ch’ien, Former Head of New Asia College; Prof. Choh-Ming Li, Founding Vice Chancellor of CUHK; Dr. Chi-Tung Yung, Former Head of Chung Chi College and Mr. Tung-Choy Cheng, Former Head of United College.


CUHK is granted funds by the Trustees of the Lingnan University (currently Lingnan Foundation) in New York to establish “The Lingnan Institute of Business Administration” and launches the first two-year MBA programme in Hong Kong.

The Establishment of the Lingnan Institute of Business Administration.


A new university-wide Faculty of Business Administration is established to replace the original Faculties of Commerce and Department of Economics and Business Administration. The new faculty consists of three departments: Accounting & Finance; General Business Management and Personnel Management; and Marketing and International Business.

Generous donations from renowned entrepreneurs and tycoons, including Mr. King-Hey Fung and Dr. Yu-Tung Cheng, enable CUHK to launch the first three-year part-time MBA programme in Hong Kong.

(From left) Mr. King-Hey Fung, Dr. Yu-Tung Cheng and founding Vice Chancellor of The Chinese University of Hong Kong Prof. Choh-Ming Li.


The MBA Town Centre is set up in Tsim Sha Tsui East, with an extension completed in 1996 and subsequently relocating to the Bank of America Tower in Central in 2002.

Town Centre for the three-year MBA programme opens in 1983.


The first Integrated BBA programme in Hong Kong is established.


The Asia-Pacific Institute of Business is established to provide training programmes, research and consultancy services for the business sector.

Seminar on cultural diversity sponsored by the Asia-Pacific Institute of Business and MTR.


Leung Kau Kui Building is completed and would serve as the home of the Faculty of Business Administration until 2010.

Opening of Leung Kau Kui Building in 1991.


The Department of Accountancy is renamed the School of Accountancy.

The first Executive MBA programme in Hong Kong is launched.

The School of Hotel and Tourism Management is established.

The BSc in Quantitative Finance programme is launched.


The Faculty launches the MBA programme in Finance with Tsinghua University.

The BBA in Insurance, Financial & Actuarial Analysis programme is launched.

The Executive Master of Professional Accountancy programme is launched in partnership with the Shanghai National Accounting Institute.

The Global Business Studies programme is launched.

The first teaching hotel in Hong Kong in collaboration with New World Development is established.

Representatives from Hyatt Hotel & Resorts, New World and CUHK gathered to celebrate the soft-opening of Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin at the Ribbon Cutting Ceremony.


The new Cheng Yu Tung Building becomes the home of the Faculty of Business Administration.

The exterior of Cheng Yu Tung Building.


The Executive MBA (Chinese) programme is offered in both Shenzhen and Hong Kong as the Shenzhen Executive Centre opens.

The Faculty of Business Administration, The Chinese University of Hong Kong is rebranded as CUHK Business School with a new brand platform and logo.

The launch of the new brand identity at Cheng Yu Tung Building in 2011.


The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen is approved by the Chinese State Ministry of Education. The School of Management and Economics receives its first undergraduate cohort.

The School of Management and Economics is housed in Teaching Building A at The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen.


The Bachelor of Business Administration (Integrated BBA Programme) and Juris Doctor Double Degree programme is launched.